Lightsaber Combat

Lightsaber Combat
Control Difficulty
spaceM (15)
Sense Difficulty
spaceE (10)
Power may be kept ‘up’
Effect – This power can be called upon at the start of a battle and remains ‘up’ until the Force-user is stunned, wounded or worse; a Force-user who has been injured or stunned may attempt to bring this power back "up".
If the Force-user is successful in using this power, she adds her sense dice to her lightsaber skill roll when attacking and parrying. The Force-user may add or subtract part or all of her control dice to the lightsaber's damage; players must decide how many control dice they are adding or subtracting when the power is activated.

Example 1 – Ana is entering combat: she has a Lightsaber skill of 4D, a Control of 5D and a Sense of 4D+2. She activates lightsaber combat by making her Moderate Control roll and her easy Sense roll; she decides to keep the power "up" and adds all of her Control dice to the damage. Since she is making both the Control and Sense rolls in the same round she suffers a -1D penalty.
She adds her Sense of 3D+2 (4D+2-1D) to her Lightsaber skill roll of 4D, for a total Lightsaber of 7D+2. She adds her Control of 4D (5D-1D) to her lightsaber's damage of 5D, for a total of 9D.
When Ana attacks in a round, that's another action for an additional -1D to all actions (total penalty of -2D): she'd only roll 6D+2 to attack and would roll 8D for damage.

A Force-user who fails when trying to activate lightsaber combat may only use the Lightsaber skill for the duration of the combat.
This power does enable the Force-user to use their lightsaber to parry a blaster bolt as a "reaction skill"
The Force-user may also attempt to control where deflected blaster bolts go; this is a "reaction skill" and counts as an additional action. (The Force-user cannot Full Parry when trying to control deflected bolts.)
If the Force-user tries to control the blaster bolt, she makes a Control roll: the difficulty is the range of the target (use the original weapon's ranges) or the targets Dodge roll. The blaster bolt's damage remains the same.

Example 2 – Ana decides to parry a blaster bolt and control where it goes. This is two more actions in a round, which means a total of four actions (don't forget the Control and Sense to keep the power "up"), for a penalty of -3D: Ana's Lightsaber skill is 5D+2, and her lightsaber's damage is 7D.
Ana's attacker is using a blaster pistol that causes 4D damage. First Ana makes her parry roll with her lightsaber: her parry roll of 18 is higher than the attacker's Blaster roll of 13, so Ana parry's the bolt.
Now, Ana tries to control the blaster bolt. Her target is 20 meters away - that's a moderate difficulty for the blaster pistol. Ana rolls a 15 with her Control - which is just enough to hit. The blaster bolt bounces off Ana's lightsaber blade and hits another goon, causing 4D damage.

Located – 2nd Edition Revised Rulebook p.148

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License